The Quest Goes On, The Quest Goes On…

Downsizing is an overwhelming job! I’m just grateful I haven’t lived in one place for 30 or 40 years. Man! What a job. However, yesterday I was blessed with volunteer help and great company. After all it isn’t often the help takes you to lunch and forces you to drink great beer!

The best helper for an artist is another artist. (Devilish grin here) I’ve done my duty, passing on many treasures to a new and deserving home. Now to figure out what to do with all my student artwork. Throw away, or keep it hidden until I’m dead and drive up the price? Yeah, there’s a plan. Too any decisions for my over addled brain today.

Well, I finally bit the bullet and gave my vacating notice only to learn, my lovely landlady was in the midst of putting the property on the market. So, I would have had to move anyway. Isn’t the Universe an amazing thing? Several weeks ago I mentioned to a friend that I felt I was being told it’s time to go, and indeed I was.  (Deep philosophical pause.)

Go where tho? It’s amazing how many possibilities are presenting themselves to someone that doesn’t have to worry about rent or a mortgage. So far my greatest realization is, Wine Across America! How about that! Or, I could set up Craft America and teach craft projects at retirement locations. You see what I’m getting at here? There’s no end to ideas.

Of course,  film is my top project. I’m looking forward to continuing a documentary about women ranchers, Cowgirl Up, to share the stories of how they are mavericks living outside the box of socially constructed femininity. Also, starting up Huckleberry Ramblings: the Film, is pretty exciting. I’m already lining up stories from single mothers that can’t afford to live a conventional lifestyle and have taken to the road to survive. More stories will come from our wonderful seniors who can no longer afford to keep their homes, or have already lost them.

There’s so much happening out there in the “real world” being overlooked while we struggle to hang on to our own lifestyle, lest we fail. Maybe the more correct name for my project should be, Grapes of Wrath 2017.

I’m still not sure where this journey is going to take me, I’ve decided to let the Universe present options. So far, so good. Like today, for example, I’m off to look at my first bus conversion for Huckleberry Ramblings production bus. Fingers crossed it will be exactly what I’ve been looking for.

That’s probably all the ramblings you have time for, so….

Until we meet again, my Huckleberry Friends, Happy Trails….

One thought on “The Quest Goes On, The Quest Goes On…

  1. Chi says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey with us. I’ll be following your transitioning, adventures and contemplations.

    Like

Comments are closed.